African Flower Yumminess

Posted on

Welcome to my fifth Minerva Crafts post. Where has that time gone?

African flower cushion

This project was pure induldgence. I have always wanted to make a African Flower cushion.

I love how there is neither a front or a back, with the hexagons just being sewn together along the long seam.African flower cushion

I sealed the short edges with some single, double and treble crochet to fill in the triangular spaces left in between the hexagons and then joined the two sides together with another row of double crochet.

African flower cushion

This cushion will so remind me of a sunny June sat in the garden. Once I had the pattern in my head it was very relaxing just working on 7 of the hexagons at a time in the same colour way.

And working out the arrangement of hexagons to ensure I had no two the same side by side.
African flower cushion

The african flower pattern, I took from Heidi Bears blog site. She has a great step by step tutorial.

I might even progress onto one of her bears next.

Heidi Bears African Flower bear

Heidi Bears African Flower bear

This was my initial bundle of yarn.

Cotton soft DK cotton by King Cole

Cotton soft DK cotton by King Cole

I’ve not much left over and would definitely use it again. Soft with a slight sheen when worked up.

My daughter has her eyes on this cushion but I think I am keeping it for myself. This is one to be admired, not to have hot chocolate dripped on it or to collect dust from her laminate floor.African flower cushion

Love Lucie x

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. Infact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wastest make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

37 responses »

  1. One of these days I must try crochet again. I think the mistake I made last time was to think of it only for clothes – which I won’t wear – but for the home and for cutie things, I think it’s better than knitting.
    I want to wear that bear’s feet as slippers.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ooo, nice! I just found Heidi Bears african flower dragon pattern on Ravelry, it’s amazing what you can create with some simple motifs :)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Now that is beautiful! Lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  4. oooh, pretty! you had better tuck a GPS tracker in that one, it is likely to wander off with your daughter.

    Like

    Reply
  5. looove your cushion and the colours are devine

    Like

    Reply
  6. stitchedupsam

    Beautiful! I really like the colour combination you chose.

    Like

    Reply
  7. A lovely cushion! I like the way you had to make sure no two the same were side by side. Just like me!

    Like

    Reply
  8. That’s beautiful. Love the colours and the african flowers are perfect for a cushion :)

    Like

    Reply
  9. Beautiful. Love the colour combination and agree a great easy pattern. Have just completed my first go at it – will post soon.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Oh my goodness this is beautiful. I’ve never tried to make the African flower, it looks quite complicated but you have convinced me it is worth it.

    Like

    Reply
  11. oh it’s lovely! (ps – good luck this weekend!)

    Like

    Reply
  12. Lovely, such pretty colours too. There are some things we need to keep for ourselves ;)

    Jan x

    Like

    Reply
  13. It’s gorgeous, love the colours and the combinations too.

    Like

    Reply
  14. A lovely cushion x I have seen many lovely images of the African flower, I think it is very pretty, I will have a look at the link of the pattern you used x

    Like

    Reply
  15. It is really stunning and I agree, one to admire!

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 492 other followers

