Replacing the ugly, one by one.

Posted on
Replacing the ugly, one by one.

After replacing my peg bag with something far more pleasurable to look out at, I have set about looking for something else around my house to beautify.
You may have read my craft wars post; my ongoing quest to place my crafty makes around the house whilst my partner fights for his preferred uncluttered style.
So I have taken it upon myself to replace previously bought mundane items with crafty makes. He’ll never notice, right?

A couple of weeks ago I remodelled my ugly peg bag, finally coming up with this, (which are flying out of my folksy shop:))Latest Oil Cloth peg bag

This weekend I replaced this.

Ugly old plastic bag tidy

Ugly old plastic bag tidy

With this.

Lovely new plastic bag tidy

Lovely new plastic bag tidy

All with materials used from my stash. Felt flower shapes and buttons.

Pinning on the felt flowers

Pinning on the felt flowers

Pinning on the felt flowers.

Pinning on the felt flowers.

Machine appliqué

Machine appliqué

Machine appliqué

Machine appliqué

Felt flower with button

Felt flower with button

Felt flower detail

Felt flower detail

An improvement don’t you think?

I’ve another ugly replacement planed for next weekend.

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

15 responses »

  1. Ha ha ha, I love your sneaky craft wars. One day your partner will come home and find your brick-and-mortar house has been replaced by a crocheted version… (Mmmm, that would be snuggly.)

    Like

    Reply
  2. sayithandmade

    It’s a great idea to remake your own versions of things, rather than buying new. Surely your partner couldn’t object as you’re not adding clutter, just making a few changes!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. I think you have come up with a good plan! I look forward to seeing what else you sneak in around your house x

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love your plan – take over by stealth!! Your felt flowers are lovely – the buttons are a lovely touch. I look forward to see what gets changed nest week 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Hi! I just found your blog through Handmade Monday and I absolutely love your blog’s ethos – replacing the ugly, one by one – I love it!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Very cute ! & what a great idea – I must start replacing some of my uglies with lovlies!

    Like

    Reply
  7. That’s a really pretty bag holder – all of my bags are crammed inside a bag for life type thingy – but I might have to make it much nicer now.

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

