First jumper complete!

First jumper complete!

It’s taken just 6 weeks. A lot less than I anticipated. And it fits!

After a good start there are a few things I’ve picked up along the way.

My first adult garment

My first adult garment

So, what have I learnt?

To read all the instructions through first and imagine them in my head instead of just ploughing in resulting in plenty of frogging.

What ‘frogging’ is.

Not to decide to do the next size up once I’ve purchased the quantity of yarn for the size below. I can annoyingly tell where the extra ball of yarn starts. I’ve definitely learnt a lesson here.

How to join 2 knitted pieces together. How to join a knitted neck border to the body.

How to block your finished piece. This made a real difference

What do you think?

20130924-190345.jpg

20130924-190423.jpg

20130924-190454.jpg

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

43 responses »

  1. That is pretty brilliant! Congrats!

    Like

    Reply
  2. It looks great, well done you.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Fab. Hppe it is the first of many?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Great job. So what do you think? Are you a convert?

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love it! nice to see you wearing it

    Like

    Reply
  6. ooh it’s lovely! I’ve been looking at a similar pattern myself (a Deramores one) and you may have inspired me to give it a go!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Congratulations! It looks beautiful and oh so comfy!

    Like

    Reply
  8. I just love this sweater (aka “jumper”)!! It fits perfectly and you look cute as a button in it. Do you think you’ll be making more for yourself? For others? Next time you make one you can just send it on over to Minnesota, USA for me. Keep those needles clicking!

    Like

    Reply
  9. WOW, it’s fantastic!!! Love it, well done xxx

    Like

    Reply
  10. Lovely jumper. Even if it took you a while it looks worth it.

    Like

    Reply
    • I only worked on it 2 or 3 evenings a week as I have other WIPs to dip in and out of. So for me It was pretty fast. I’m looking for something a bit more challenging next but still contemporary.

      Like

      Reply
  11. The jumper looks pretty good! I wish my first jumper looked so professionally made like this one – I got mine completely muddled and it was wider then it should have been.

    Like

    Reply
  12. well done, now your on a roll, no stopping you now

    Like

    Reply
  13. It’s wonderful! Welldone you. The shape is really flattering on you, and the yarn is a gorgeous colour. Can’t wait to see what you make next….

    Like

    Reply
  14. Well done you! It fits like a glove! A major achievement in my book ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  15. Simply lovely, I have jumpers that I knitted years ago, they last forever. I love the colour.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Hi Lucie, your sweater turned out lovely! It fits perfect too – you are such a talented knitter!

    Like

    Reply
  17. It looks nice and cosy. Congratulations on getting it done.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Very nice too! I’ve just started knitting after a break of 15-years or so! I’m trying to do a blanket – at 3 squares a day i reckon it’ll be ready for July!

    Like

    Reply
  19. Yeah !!! I just love the colour.

    Well done with the blocking. I have to confess I never block even though I know I should as it does make such a difference. So what’s next… xx

    Like

    Reply
    • It took ages to dry but it turned a lumpy item into something quite even and soft.
      Next, I’ve started an alpaca yarn cowl on circular needles. And a cable scarf for the OH for Christmas. And yesterday bought some merino for some mits. I’m definitely hooked!

      Like

      Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

