Daft, I know, but….

Daft, I know, but this solves an annoying little problem I have in the car.

De-icer sock

Interesting crochet item………..

‘But what is it?’ I hear you cry!

Crochet de-icer sock

Crochet de-icer sock

Why, it’s a de-icer sock.
A de-icer sock is a useful item to stop the annoying metal-on-metal clang that happens when my de-icer rolls off the back seat of the car and crashes against the metal bars beneath the passenger seat, continuing to do so around every bend of the remaining journey.
Crochet de-icer sock

I stopped short of adding flowers etc.

My OH asks, ‘why don’t I just keep it in the boot?’

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

27 responses »

  1. What a wonderful idea, the colourful cosy cover will also keep your hands a bit warmer when you reach into the cold car and grab the cold can to de-ice your windows on those cold and frosty mornings.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Go on, go on…. Give it flowers!! Oooooo….. No…… Snowflakes! Lol! 😉

    Like

    Reply
  3. haha this is a genius idea!

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love! Such a good idea 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. It’s a great idea and I think it should have snowflakes on it too. It will definitely keep your hands warmer.

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a brilliant idea. I hate the tin rolling around in the car and keeps your hands a bit warmer.
    Ali x

    Like

    Reply
  7. I think it’s brilliant and definitely needs a bit of embellishment. As for the OH – he’s male and doesn’t understand these things 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • He said to me,’what will others think of an aerosol in a sock on the back seat?’ I’m not at all sure what he was getting at. Do I care what others make of an aerosol in a sock? No. And I can’t imagine there are many back seat stalkers out there.
      Men!

      Like

      Reply
  8. I think it’s a great idea and it will brighten your day everytime you use it. I’m all for the embellishment if it doesn’t make the de-icer harder to use.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Brilliant. And DEFINITELY you need to add snowflakes!

    Like

    Reply
  10. The Quilt Meister

    Ha!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Because the boot is not as pretty as your sock!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Ha, ha! And usually, when I’m leaving the house on said cold and frosty morning, I have only seconds to spare!

    Like

    Reply
  13. It’s been one of those weeks so am only now catching up with my blog reading !!!!!

    What a brilliant idea. It’ll also stop your hands getting cold as the cans of de-icer can be freezing to hold xx

    Like

    Reply
  14. You are definitely a genius! I would go ahead and add flowers and anything else that comes to mind!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Pingback: The Christmas Made It – I love lucie! (and the prize, of course) | woolhogs

You can leave a comment here if you like!

