Wounded in action

Woe is me, woe is me.
I know there are far more serious things to get upset about but my beloved Janome of 13 years has a malfunction.

Janome MyStyle

Janome MyStyle

I can not entirely blame my daughter,
I’ve been putting off a service for several months, but she was the last one to use it. She and a friend had been trying to sew some particularly sticky PVC coated fabric whilst I was out of the house over half term.
Whilst I tried very hard not to put her off carrying out an impromptu sewing project in the future, I’m not sure I was entirely restrained.
The feed dogs are not propelling the fabric back, causing it to stitch in just one place.Janome MyStyle
I was quite surprised how upset I was when I realised my weekend sewing plans were scupered. I have a Minerva Crafts project to finish. A whole week without a machine? Unthinkable.
I’ve undone as many screws as I dare. I’ve blown and swept out the fluff. Nothing is jammed. The feed dogs haven’t been retracted ( that had caught me out before), they still move, they are just not lifting as high with each plunge of the needle.
Today I shall drop her off with the man who I know will take good care of her. The man who’s face lights in praise of the sight of a work horse of a machine in a ‘this is a sturdy little number’ kind of way.
Then drastic action is planned. At the absolute horror of my OH who thinks I’m quite mad, I’m going to Argos to pick up a cheap ‘Brother’. This will be my emergency machine.
A machine to use during services and breakdowns. A machine suitable for everything except for denim and other similar fabrics.
Now my daughter and I will be able to sew side by side.

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

17 responses »

  1. Directly below your post in my Bloglovin’ stream was this: http://www.thesimplethings.com/win-a-sewing-machine/

    A better “spare”?!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, definitely but unfortunately I can’t wait that long! At the advice of Sue (see comment below) I’ve just been and bought a basic Janome from Dunelm. Good to see the British sewing bee are using a Janome. It looks like one step down from mine.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dunelm do cheap Janome machines. Happy shopping.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh no. I hope you find an adequate stand in and it won’t feel too strange to work with. What a lovely positive way to look at the situation though – mother and daughter sewing side by side in the future 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. The perfect solution. Happy shopping 😉

    Like

    Reply
  5. I bought my daughter an entry level Janome for her birthday in the summer and she is very happy with it. It’s always good to have a sparesie. I use my basic Singer for sewing dusty stuff like burlap, etc. and save my Janome for finer fabrics.

    Like

    Reply
    • There was never going to be a good time for it to break down but I’m glad I now have a spare. I took my machine to the repair shop yesterday. I took off the lid and as predicted the man said, ‘oh, that’s a lovely machine’. He definitely has a soft spot for a Janome! The Sewing Bee are using an almost identical machine so I feel very happy/smug with mine.

      Like

      Reply
  6. I am glad you were able to get a spare so readily – and such a nice machine. You and your daughter will have years of fun sewing side by side. And having a spare when you are about to become a famous crafter is a good idea. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. I’ve just nominated you for a Liebster award at http://whatimuptotoday.wordpress.com/2014/02/23/accepting-an-award/

    Love what you can do with a little fabric and or yarn!

    Like

    Reply
  8. When I read your title I was worried… Having just read about your rotary cutter! Phew! So glad it was not that. Wow, a two machine house…. Sounds like a dream 😉

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

