Holiday purse

Posted on
Holiday purse

Sometimes an idea I have swirling around in my head works out, sometimes it doesn’t.
This is one of those more satisfying occasions.

Well, I think so anyway.

Crochet and denim purse

Crochet and denim purse

The denim is from a skirt I’d had stashed for fabric for some time.

The lining is a piece I had left over from my swirly crochet cushion.Crochet and denim purse

The use of the crochet as a closure meant there was no need to insert a zip and so was a really quick make.Crochet and denim purse

I included some wadding between the denim and the lining to give the purse some substance.Crochet and denim purse

The button came from my huge button stash.Crochet and denim purse

I intend to use this on a holiday planned for this Easter. An evening purse just large enough to carry my phone, a lipstick and some money.

Of course last years make will be coming along too.

Collecting breakfast in newly crocheted bag

Collecting breakfast in newly crocheted bag

 

 

I hope those of you in the UK enjoyed some lovely warm sun today.

Doesn’t it restore your faith in the British climate!

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

59 responses »

  1. Love it. What a great idea.x

    Like

    Reply
  2. The crochet and denim work really well together. Gorgeous.
    Ali xx

    Like

    Reply
  3. I love the purse, it is really classy!
    Too right about the weather today, we spent it with friends in the park, wearing tshirts! Tshirts in March! X

    Like

    Reply
  4. Very nice, I really like your purse!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Great idea. Especially love the lining – mind you, I have a bit of a thing about linings lol. Lovely addition to last year’s crochet bag. Enjoy your holiday! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  6. Great idea. I love the swish lining, and the crochet flap.

    Like

    Reply
  7. LOVE the clutch! The crochet makes it feel sorta vintage-y, which is fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  8. It’s been a lovely sunny day, just a day to be thinking of summer holidays. The clutch is lovely and I think it will be very versatile and go will a variety of outfits.

    Jan x

    Like

    Reply
  9. I adore the crochet fastening, what a brilliant idea:)

    Like

    Reply
  10. A lovely bag. Great lining fabric!

    Like

    Reply
  11. I made something similar years ago (but I just added a lacy doily to an existing bag so nothing like a lovely as yours) I need to find it and start using it again – thanks for the inspiration! It’s been beautiful this weekend hasn’t it – I hope you were able to get out and enjoy it!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Button stashes are great aren’t they?? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  13. Joyful Art Stuff

    love ur purse, so cute

    Like

    Reply
  14. How pretty. What a fab idea πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  15. Looks lovely. I like the no-zip idea!

    Like

    Reply
  16. Lovely idea, and great that your daughter likes it too.

    Like

    Reply
  17. Ooh I really like both purses.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Beautiful and a total surprise! Lovely idea indeed πŸ™‚
    And yesterday was the first time I ventured out without a coat at least over my arm in case. It felt like it was bordering on summer!!

    Like

    Reply
  19. So beautiful and clever.

    Like

    Reply
  20. Female Bystander

    Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  21. Thank you for sharing such a great idea! Your purse is lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  22. A lovely clutch bag, and a great choice of materials too,

    Like

    Reply
  23. Such a beautiful clutch!I love the lace detail! Would love to have you visit me sometime.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

    Like

    Reply
  24. Oooooh Lucie, I love it! I especially love the lining, nothing nicer than opening a bag/purse and seeing the pretty fabric inside!

    Like

    Reply
  25. Oooooh Lucie, I love it! I especially love the lining, nothing nicer than opening a bag/purse and seeing the pretty fabric inside!

    Like

    Reply
  26. Lovely Purse! I am actually quite jealous as I really would love to make one too, except that my sewing skills are close to zero!

    Like

    Reply
  27. Pingback: The March Made It WINNERS! | woolhogs

  28. May I ask where you got the pattern for the crochet part from, or did you make it up yourself? X

    Like

    Reply
    • I made it up as I went along but started by looking at crochet doily patterns on Pinterest. There are loads you could just copy. X

      Like

      Reply
      • Thank you πŸ™‚
        I’ve been looking and can’t find any that suit the pattern I’m doing and this one looked lovely. I don’t want them to be too much of a solid circle so you last round is ideal (I’m just being picky!) x

        Like

        Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

