Wedding invites

Posted on

All my wedding invitations have safely made their way to their destinations so I thought I might now share them with you.Handmade wedding invitiations

I had great plans of paper cutting each invitation by hand but I was foiled by both time and good common sense. I quickly came to the realisation that this was indeed a pipe dream only achievable without a full time job or the numerous other projects I had on the go at the same time.Handmade wedding invitiations

I think what I eventually came up with embraced an element of what I originally had in mind but were much more achievable.

I was very pleased with the resulting invitation. Many of my recipients did not realise I had made them so my hope that they would look professional was achieved. Handmade wedding invitiations

These were all produced at a fraction of the cost of purchasing custom printed wedding invitations. Whilst I’m happy to purchase items I cannot make myself (e.g. wedding rings! ) there is something very satisfying at producing something that can be passed off as a professional product.Handmade wedding invitiations

Quite simply these were made up from card supplies from my local craft shop and a couple of Tonic edge punches to create the edge detail and the delicate band.

Handmade wedding invitiations

The corner punch gave the card inserts a nicely rounded edge, finishing them off nicely.

Corner punch

The Tonic edge punches were so easy to use. Just a little care was needed to line up the previous punch with the next one to get things looking nice and even.Tonic border punchTonic border punch

 

After some ridiculous quotes from local printers I finally ended up at the Staples stationary chain where I couldn’t fault the service. The young girl pointed out to me all my spelling mistakes(!) and aligned the wording for me.

The band I sealed with a little glue to create a wrap around the invitiation.

Handmade wedding invitiations

 

And voila!Handmade wedding invitiations

 

Love, Lucie xx

 

 

 

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

27 responses »

  1. very nice! I love the cut-outs. I’ve been handmaking all my wedding invites too…. I’ve so far managed half of them but it’s so time-consuming! I’m regretting all the fiddly bits and pieces that are involved with mine haha. blog post to follow shortly (or in a few months, depends how long they take to finish….)

    Like

    Reply
  2. They are exquisite !

    Like

    Reply
  3. These are so pretty and look really professional!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Lovely! I’m sure everyone was impressed when they found out you made them!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Looking very professional indeed! Don’t have anything to use them for but I like the edge punches.

    Like

    Reply
  6. These look lovely – no point getting stressed by setting yourself difficult targets – you’re supposed to be enjoying yourself! I like the contrasting band around the outside, that’s a really nice touch. Amazing what you can do with punches – it’s yet another crafting world just waiting to be discovered.- and you can always go back to paper cutting when you’ve got more time.

    Like

    Reply
  7. beautiful invitations. Much happiness on your wedding day

    Like

    Reply
  8. Very chic looking invitations. You are good at designing and executing your ideas!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Beautiful work! I hope you made extra so that you can have one as a keepsake. =)

    Like

    Reply
  10. I love these! Once again you amaze me with your creativity. I hope you’re getting excited for the big day!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Sew Magazine and a Blogaversary | Love, Lucie

You can leave a comment here if you like!

