Three pairs on the go

Posted on

I’m not quite sure why I’ve got three pairs of socks on the go.

Three socks WIP

 

The pink I started as some mindless knitting. They are DK yarn that is knitting up really quick which doesn’t explain why I’ve not got very far with them.

RICO design creative micro print dk

RICO design creative micro print dk

The stripy grey and blue I started as I thought I should have a pair that wouldn’t shout, poking out below my jeans. They look narrow in this rib pattern, but believe me, they stretch.

Stylecraft Aviemore 4 ply sock yarn

Stylecraft Aviemore 4 ply sock yarn

The final pair are my favourite so far. I love the colour, the fact that it is local West Yorkshire Spinners sock yarn ( thanks Mollie and Claire for the tip off)

West Yorkshier Spinners 4 ply in Sweet Shop Shades

West Yorkshire Spinners 4 ply in Sweet Shop Shades

 

and the pattern – Business Casual Socks, a free pattern Β on Ravelry – Business Casual by Tanis Lavallee

Business Casual by Tanis Lavallee

Business Casual by Tanis Lavallee

I love how the diamonds form down the sock. It is a pity I got lost and had to fudge it a little. Hence stopping the pattern once I got to the foot. But no one will see that bit.

Tanis fiber arts Business Casual Socks in Yorkshire Spinners Sock Yarn

Tanis fiber arts Business Casual Socks in Yorkshire Spinners Sock Yarn

Any other sock WIP out there?

Love, Lucie xx

 

 

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

22 responses »

  1. Sanderella's Crochet

    Oh your a busy gal!! Cute post, and beautiful socks!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. I regret to say I am still struggling with the sock making, I will set my mind to it one day!
    Love the pink socks by the way.

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, there’s no point bashing away at something you don’t enjoy. I never thought I would ever knit a sock. It was just a challenge to master, then I got hooked.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I’m still on my two at a time ones but, now that I’ve proved to myself I can do it, I’m giving the sock knitting a rest until the autumn although I have already bought some yarn for the next pair.
    I assume that’s not you modelling the finished diamond socks!

    Like

    Reply
  4. think i llike the blue ones the most too! i might have to make me a pair i think, thanks for sharing

    Like

    Reply
  5. The Quilt Meister

    Grr #sockenvy

    Like

    Reply
  6. Beautiful socks and colors.

    Like

    Reply
  7. I’ve got two pairs on the go – easy and complicated, for different occasions…as well as a few other projects πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
  8. Nice socks! Glad you like the West Yorkshire Spinners yarn. I think it’s fab. Everyone seems to be motoring on with socks. Mine are stalled with the odd row here & there. I do indeed have two sock WIPs!!

    Like

    Reply
  9. A lovely lot of socks. I like the last pair best too. Maybe I will use that stitch pattern on a future pair. I am half-way through a pair as you may have seen on my blog. Would love to knit the other one but am working on a time restrained project at present.

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

