A wedding keepsake box

Posted on
A wedding keepsake box

What’s in the box?20140622-203232-73952251.jpg

Well, surprise, surprise, it’s a box. A handmade wooden box purchased from Home Deco Art  for a mere £15.99. Dovetail joints and everything!

I wanted to personalise a sturdy box for the wedding. A box in which our guests can leave their cards and which will double as a keepsake box; a sort of wedding day time capsule.

I love decopatch. I love how it gives a really polished, hard wearing finish.
Remember the glasses cases I treated with decopatch last year?

Decopatch glasses case

Decopatch glasses case

The whole decopatch glasses case tutorial can be found here

To start I gave the box a rough undercoat of white acrylic paint.

Decopatch wedding keepsake box
Inside and out.Decopatch
From my favourite decopatch online shop ‘The Decopatch Place’, I chose this lovely rose print. I ordered 12 sheets which turned out to be exactly what I needed.
Decopatch
Starting from the inside I layered up torn pieces of the rose print paper.Decopatch wedding keepsake box
On and on.
Decopatch
And on until I had covered it completely.Decopatch wedding keepsake box
Finally I gave it another coat of the decopatch glue which drys clear, like a varnish and left it outside to dry in the sun.Decopatch wedding keepsake boxDecopatch wedding keepsake box

Yes, I should have been sewing but it was just too nice to be stuck in doors. This was a project I didn’t think I would be able to fit in before THE BIG DAY. But I did and I’m very pleased to have this lovely box in which to keep my wedding bits and pieces.Decopatch wedding keepsake box

Love, Lucie x

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

18 responses »

  1. Fabulous, I tried decoupage with a cardboard box which buckled a bit, you have given me real inspiration with this, many thanks. Not long now!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great idea. I have two boxes hidden in my wardrobe – one with wedding keepsakes, and another with all the baby cards etc. They are probably the things I would grab if I every had to save one thing from the house.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mister Creative

    Lovely! Wish now I hadn’t made mine out of cardboard!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Your box looks beautiful 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. What a lovely keepsake, and I think the roses look beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
  6. That looks so pretty, and such a lovely idea to use it for wedding keepsakes.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Oh it’s gorgeous! I can’t wait to see the photos from this wedding!

    Like

    Reply
  8. I love it too. I did a chair for Heidi and a 1940’s kitchenette, so fast and addictive. Getting closer now….Jo x

    Like

    Reply
    • I tried a new brand of paper at first. It was more expensive but I liked the design. Unfortunately it just wasn’t the same. It tore and was a lot more transparent. So I had to start again with decopatch papers.

      Like

      Reply
  9. The box looks lovely, I have my wedding keepsakes in a cardboard box but I might just find a wooden one and do this, it’s so pretty.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Gorgeous. A great outdoor activity too!

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

