Toasty toes 2

Toasty toes 2

My crochet hottie is complete.

It has even been bestowed with a ‘that looks alright’ from Mr Jones. Praise indeed!

40 little crochet grannies in a dk acrylic with a sheen and look of mercerised cotton.

A border of 3 rows of dbl (UK) crochet around the edge of both front and back and then a fourth dbl crochet row to connect the two with the hot water bottle in situ.

The fiddlest bit was crocheting up around the neck.Crochet hot water bottle

But it was worth persevering.

No, this cover is not one to be removed from it’s cover so it’ll take some careful filling by my god daughter’s mum.Crochet hot water bottle

It feels lovely and soft against my skin, but don’t worry, although tempted this weekend by a dratted cold, my feet have not been anywhere near it.

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

25 responses »

  1. Love the bright colours (love the blanket in the background too).

    Like

    Reply
  2. So pretty and still laughing about your feet.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Oh, that’s so pretty. Lovely colours 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh it looks really good, straight from a Cath Kidston store!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Ooh, I couldn’t part with it. It’s too pretty and snuggly looking

    Like

    Reply
  6. OMG I love it so much! I want one, and I don’t even have a hot water bottle anymore! Did you use a pattern or did you improvise?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lovely colours. I would fill it up with water and hug it. Thankfully it warming up considerably here down under.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Lovely! So bright and cheerful, just what you need on a cold day or on a day when you feel under the weather.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Really very nice ! I like the top part with the button closure, pretty! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. Very pretty and practical too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. What a gorgeous gift, very happy colours.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  12. loobyloucreations

    I love it I was hoping you would have a pattern for us 🙂
    Did you crochet this around the bottle? I want to make one now 🙂 My bottle has no cover it feels unloved it can not see this post

    Like

    Reply
    • I made my squares, as many as would almost cover the hot water bottle, sewed them together and then did a dc border around, 3 times, to cover the entire face. Due to the shape of the hot water bottle ‘shoulders’ I did another 3 rows of dc along the top edge, each one shorter in length than the one before.
      Then I joined the front and back with dc, ensuring the bottle would fit snuggly inside.
      Once 3 sides were done, I put the bottle inside and crocheted along the top and around the neck with the bottle inside.
      A pattern is a little tricky as each bottle is a different shape.
      I got the idea from here
      http://foxslane.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/lets-crochet-granny-hottie.html#.VDf1efldXBX
      which goes into more detail but I just winged it.
      Hope that helps.

      Like

      Reply
      • loobyloucreations

        thank you so much 🙂 I will give it a go and see how I go. I am still having some problems with crochet I seem to be okay at granny squares and things but when it come to other things I get a bit stuck but I am having fun learning as I go 🙂

        Like

        Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

