Blackberry jam and Brownies

Blackberry jam and Brownies

When Freya was small we would bake together.
Biscuits were her favourite thing. We had a box of 101 cutter shapes. People, stars, flowers, people, boats, cars and of course many letter shapes; an initial for all the people in her life.
After the baking came the decorating. Tubes of coloured icing, teeth breaking silver balls, sugar flowers and edible glitter.
Always a fun but exhausting afternoon, finishing off with a mop of the floor.
But times move on. These days we cook and bake alongside each other, happily sharing the stove, singing along to the radio. I still get to do the washing up.

This weekend, as I made blackberry and blackcurrant jam, Freya made Brownies.
While I simmered, Freya melted.


As I boiled, Freya poured.


As I filled, Freya’s Brownies cooled.


As I labelled, we both ate.


A perfect Sunday afternoon.
Some lament for the times when their children were small. If I’m honest I prefer these more grown up, companionable days.

I’m looking forward to Brownie and ice cream for pudding, later.

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

14 responses »

  1. What a lovely way to spend an afternoon!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love this! Just like our household, and I still get to do the washing up too 😉

    Like

    Reply
  3. Perfect way to spend an Autumn afternoon.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Looks like you had a great time. All that jam and brownies make me hungry!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oooo such a lovely afternoon! They both look delicious!

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a lovely afternoon! Are the jars gifts? What a lovely sentiment – although my almost 3 year old has it moments am loving him being the age he is. Learning not to wish away a particular age and enjoying the present.

    Like

    Reply
    • A few will be given away to appreciative friends but mostly we’ll eat it ourselves, together with the strawberry jam made earlier in the year, over the next 12 months. We get through a lot of jam!

      Like

      Reply
  7. I made lemon curd at the weekend but it was a lone pursuit! My cooking daughter is away doing an internship and the other isn’t interested in the slightest – apart from in eating the finished product of course.

    Like

    Reply
  8. What fun. Brownies are a favourite treat in our household 🙂

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

