Sock monkey

Yes, your eyes are not deceiving you, I have been crocheting a sock monkey.
IMG_8199.JPG

It is by far the most boring crochet I have undertaken in a long time but I’m sure the monkey-mad mother-to-be will love it.

I remember the amazing knitted clown I received from the very same person  when Freya was born 14 years ago and now it is her turn. Freya’s dad and I had painstakingly decorated the nursery as the inside of a circus tent; bright red and yellow circus tent stripes. The clown was a perfect addition although unfortunately it is packed away in the loft in my bag of Freya treasures. If I’m up there at the weekend (always a task I try and put off, going into the loft!) I’ll get a photo.

I came across the monkey pattern on Pinterest; leading me to a site called Craft Passion, a site full of free tutorials.

IMG_8198.JPG

The pattern advised around 12 hours of crochet. ‘I’ll blast this’, I thought.
12 hours later and I have two little ears to crochet and then I’m done.
Phew!

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

10 responses »

  1. I love your sock monkey parts although I suppose, strictly speaking, a sock monkey should involve a sock. But, who cares? An idea, though, if ever you suffer from Second Sock Syndrome I suppose.

    I regularly check out Craft Passion – she has some really good tutorials on there and not all for crochet although her patterns always make me tempted to get out those hooks again and watch some video tutorials.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love the bright colours you’ve chosen for the little critter! I’m sure it’ll be well loved.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Love sock monkeys – what a lovely gift 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  4. They are fun aren’t they. Looking forward to seeing the finished version. jo

    Like

    Reply
  5. It’s lovely. Now, who do I know that needs a sock monkey? Well, I’m sure I can find someone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

