Making mincemeat of the mincemeat

Making mincemeat of the mincemeat

Good old Delia Smith came out at the weekend for the first of her annual contributions to Christmas.
It was that time again. Time to make my mincemeat.
I remembered to use vegetarian suet so as not to repeat last year’s fellow work colleague alienation!

The ingrediants

The ingredients

Just the easiest of recipes.

Chop, cutting up those apples VERY small, grate, keeping knuckles and finger nails out of the mix, combine and stand overnight to mingle.

3hrs on low in the oven

3hrs on low in the oven

Fill the house with Christmas smells on a Sunday morning, before cooling and adding the brandy.

Cooled, brandy added and bottled

Cooled, brandy added and bottled

Mincemeat completed, I need to check my supplies for next weekend’s Christmas Cake.
Have you made yours?

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

18 responses »

  1. Is Christmas that close! Oh dear I haven’t even begun to think of it this year.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I make light fruit cakes for the festive season so no need to worry so far in advance. Might try mincemeat next year though 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  3. Yep! I have already made my xmas cake, but will think about Delias mincemeat.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I’ve never made mincemeat, although I love a good mince pie. We’re not keen on Christmas cake or pud, so I don’t bother with those at all.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Should have made my cake last weekend but it was put off until next by idleness. I made my mincemeat in January but I don’t cook it – that’s a new recipe to me.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I have only just finished getting rid of last years 9″ Christmas cake from my thighs!! Heidi loved mince pies but we have never made the mincemeat – Very committed Lucy. Jo xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Mister Creative

    The mincemeat maker hasn’t made it yet, but I’m living in hope 😃

    Like

    Reply
  8. Oh no! I was in England at the weekend and total forgot to get suet to bring back with me. And I swore I was going to introduce The Boy and all my Swiss friends to mince pies this year!

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

