Socks in progress

These are my current socks in progress.

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

They were mostly knitted on planes somewhere between here and Thailand. All the long haul regulars were asleep. I was awake with my knitting and a whole heap of Colin Firth films to watch on the inflight entertainment.

I love the patterns this fairisle making yarn creates.

Sidar Crofter DK in Hound Dog

Sidar Crofter DK in Hound Dog

But if you look closely the yarn for one sock differs from the yarn from the second ball. I must have picked up 2 balls from different batches. The colours are generally ‘muddier’ in the second sock.

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

I don’t think any one will notice.
The are long so they will stick out nicely above my boots. I love how quickly dk knits up for socks!

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

Long socks in Sidar Crofter DK

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

18 responses »

  1. love those socks! You are right, no one will notice the color differences, but don’t you hate when that happens?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Those are seriously nice socks. I love non matching things so the difference doesn’t bother me – I like that they’re different but clearly belong together.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I love that yarn – I’ve made a cardigan with it and, with the chunky version, a cardigan. All the fun of fair isle without the faff πŸ™‚
    How come you were allowed to take knitting needles on the plane?

    Like

    Reply
  4. They would fit in my house perfectly, we never have matching socks! Happ th to give them a home….

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oh I love them. I agree with Claire that despite being slightly different in colour, they are so obviously a pair πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  6. Jo Three Stories High

    I am too frightened to make socks in case I get addicted to making them! which I know I will so I resist the temptation – those look snuggly though. Jo x

    i have made a fab lace top here
    http://joeveryday19.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/white-tree-black-lace.html#comments

    Like

    Reply
  7. The slight difference in colours makes them unique, they will look great and keep your toes lovely and cosy now the weather is getting colder.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Beautiful yarn and lovely as socks. Still haven’t finished my first pair….

    Like

    Reply
  9. These interesting yarns make lovely socks don’t they? Possibly look different colours because the stripes are in different places. Look like they will be so cosy!

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

