Summer Skirt

Posted on
Summer Skirt

I know it’s only a skirt but I’ve not made a skirt before. This one has pockets AND a lapped zip!

Used this Newlook 6106 pattern and went for the simplest view A.

Newlook 6106

Newlook 6106

Cutting on size 16 I made up a toile as I wanted to practice my pockets. It turns out they are the simplest thing.

Practice pockets

Before clipping and turning the pocket to the right side out, the pattern told you to ‘layer the seam allowance’. I’d not come across this before but soon worked out to trim one seam allowance back more than the other to prevent bulk and an obvious ridge in the fabric.

The size 16 came out fairly well on size.A-Line skirt toile

So I progressed on to my fabric; this rather lovely blue and green marrakesh large floral print stretch cottonΒ fromΒ Minerva Crafts.

Blue and green marrakesh large floral print stretch cotton.

Blue and green marrakesh large floral print stretch cotton.

I must say this fabric is an absolute dream to work with. There is just the right about of weight for an a-line skirt. I didn’t want a drapey a-line but more of a modern silhouette. There is a purple/blue colourway too. I’ve a dress in mind for that!

Having made up the skirt once, I whizzed through the second make. I love how my overlocker finished pockets look so professional on the inside.

Newlook 6106

Along with the seams.

Newlook 6106
Unfortunately my yoke was too short again. You’d think I’d learn! And I forgot to overlock the yoke ends so this has ended up a bit messy.

Yoke was too short - again!

Yoke was too short – again!

It looks alright from the outside though. I just wish I’d trimmed away my seam allowance more. It’s a little bulky at the top.

An 'almost there' lapped zip

An ‘almost there’ lapped zip

Pleased as punch with my top stiching.


And very pleased with the final result. When I made up the toile I wasn’t sure if I would keep it as an a-line but narrow it down to more of a ‘pencil’. But the fabric gives it a lovely modern shape and my daughter said it looked just ordinary when I pinned the sides in.


A summer skirt ready for some summer weather. I just wish it would warm up and stop raining!

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

41 responses »

  1. I love your skirt – and the name of the fabric πŸ˜‰ Did you cut a 16 to have it lying on the hips as you don’t look a 16!! Great make.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Lovely material and pretty skirt. Well done πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  3. Totally gorgeous. You have got so good. I refuse to believe you are a 16.

    Like

    Reply
    • No, a size 10. Pattern sizes have not changed since they came out pre-war, whereas the shop clothing sizes have been changed to suit changing figures of the years. Apparently it’s called ‘vanity sizing’

      Like

      Reply
  4. Glad I read the other comments! It is a great skirt. We have lots of lovely sun here today, quite warm with it too. Just having a break from spending the morning in the garden. Worrying about whether I should make a toile of my trousers that are next in line but not even sure where to buy the material from and obviously want to make them now! I have some material ear marked for skirt. Maybe this is the pattern?

    Like

    Reply
    • Depends on what silhouette you usually like. I wouldn’t normally wear an ‘a-line’ but the structure of the fabric meant it stuck out just right to give a modern shape (IMO). If it were longer I would find it a little old fashioned on my short little legs but that is just my preference. It’s a great pattern and I would def make it up again in a similar weight material but not in anything finer.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Such a cheerful fabric – is it really the first skirt you’ve ever made? Brilliant!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, first skirt. Must try a fitted pencil skirt next. There are so many patterns around for the ‘perfect’ pencil it might take me a while to narrow it down or even risk going with a freebie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Great skirt as always. I wish it would rain here. High wind and dry grass here. A bunch of prairie fires yesterday.

    Like

    Reply
  7. stitchedupsam

    This looks lovely Lucie. Great choice of pattern and fabric.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Its so lovely and goes really well with your Maria Denmark top! Once again I ❀❀❀ your fabric choice here so summery! I think I have that pattern somewhere in my stash….

    Like

    Reply
  9. That looks lovely. Gorgeous fabric and it goes beautifully with that top πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  10. Congratulations on your first skirt! Lovely fabric and a very professional finish. Yep, you just have to accept that when you make your own clothes, you are a larger size, than in the shops.(Does make me feel humungous though!)

    Like

    Reply
  11. Everything you make is just lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Fab colours and shape Lucy! Bet you can’t wait for Spring πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  13. Love the style, and there’s lots of scope for different variations, I bet it would look great with some piping on the edge of the pockets. πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
  14. It is a lovely skirt – very spring like. I need to add a lapped zip to my repertoire. Good to see you’ve started on your haul already!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Lovely fabric! It looks as if it will be a great summer staple.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Love the skirt! The fabric, and fit and topstitching are lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  17. It’s lovely! Yes, maybe this skirt could influence our weather?!? Sun is shining here as I write!!!

    Like

    Reply
  18. Loving the fabric choice, Lucie! It came out really really well! And I’m impressed you made a toile too.

    Like

    Reply
  19. Great fabric and skirt. I like the way it goes with something you already have. I am trying to do that this year. I have just made a yellow dress to go with my yellow shoes. Jo x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

