Tension disaster 

Posted on

When I got my cushion cover out last night and flattened it out to view my progress this is what I saw. 

  
Looks like my tension on trains is far tighter than my tension on the sofa.

There’s nothing for it but to undo it back to the mustard. 

Thinking calming crochet thoughts.

Love, Lucie x

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

25 responses »

  1. Who knew there was such a thing as ‘train tension’? I suppose it’s not a surprise that ‘sofa tension’ would be the more relaxed one. I wonder what ‘car tension’ or ‘plane tension’ would be like. A bit of a pain if you have to do a swatch for each form of transport.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  2. Oh no. How unfortunate 😐

    I had to pull back 20 rows of my latest knitting project yesterday, so you have my sympathies (mind you there were only 28 to 32 stitches per row, so I got off lightly) x

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh no! I suppose you can look at it that you’re only at the same place as if you hadn’t done it on the train – or does it takes ages to undo? Hope not.

    Is tension harder to get even with crochet than with knitting? I knit all over the place and my tension remains the same. Am now planting your earlier warning about practising to get tension even more firmly in my brain.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I admire your diligence! I would have just left it and kept my fingers crossed while blocking😁

    Like

    Reply
  5. I felt weird pressing the like button on this 😦
    I know your pain I used to knit a lot and tension issues are so frustrating. Good luck hopefully the ripping out stage is not to painful….a glass of wine helps 😉

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a shame! I find keeping tension even in crochet is tricky.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Poor you
    Is it harder keeping to the same tension tension in crochet than in knitting?
    I know mine changes sometimes too….

    Like

    Reply
  8. Noooo! At least it will be quick to pull out, can’t think of anything else positive about it though! A case of grit your teeth and just do it 😦

    Like

    Reply
  9. I’m with Hila. Always impressed with your patience and effort 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  10. Are you sure it is the tension? have you still got the same stitch count as when you started. Oh BUM! never mind at least with crochet you don’t have to pick up the remaining stitches!! Jo x

    Like

    Reply
  11. I’m with Hila too & would just block it and hope s bigger cushion inner would help sort the problem out! 😳

    Like

    Reply
  12. Aargh! I suppose it’s best to unravel now, otherwise it would annoy you every time you looked at it. Such a shame though, your progress was swift:)

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

