Bluebell woods

Posted on

When my daughter came back from a run, last weekend, and said that the bluebells were out I knew that I had to get out myself before this breathtaking display was over for another year.
I needn’t have worried. The bluebells have not yet reached their absolute peak but were pretty impressive, non the less.

The bright bright green of the youngest of spring leaves against the purple backdrop never fails to amaze me.
Fellow runners always nod or say ‘morning!’, dependant on how much breath they have left. When the bluebells are out we are also telepathically saying, ‘Look! Aren’t they beautiful!’

The slightly sickly smell is quite over powering from a spread such as this one.

At just a mile from the house these woods around the Newmillerdam reservoir always form part of a run or a bike ride. The sight put such a spring in my step that I managed 5 miles!
The bluebells on the bank to the other side of the reservoir are always a couple of weeks behind these ones. So we have a few more opportunities to catch them in the sun.

Do bluebells grow in such abundance in other parts of the world or is such a short lived display unique to Britain?

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

24 responses »

  1. They look gorgeous! I have a few little bunches in my garden and they are so pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Love bluebells! Shuddering at the idea of running anywhere! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 4 people

    Reply
  3. Love a gentle meander through a bluebell wood. The one near me should be at it’s best shortly, we need some more sunny days. Tipping it down this morning! Have a great bank holiday.

    Like

    Reply
  4. stitchedupsam

    Beautiful! We have a stunning bluebell wood near us that I’m hoping to get to sometime over the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous! I love bluebells. Ours seem a little thin on the ground this year ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

    Reply
  6. So beautiful! I don’t really see those here — the closest thing (in color, at least) is the hanging wisteria, although that doesn’t last too long either.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Hat lovely photos, thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. beautiful bluebells Lucie. Great photos, would be wonderful to walk down that path

    Like

    Reply
  9. They look stunning, but I know what you mean about the smell. There’s some in Brighouse and they smell garlicky when you drive past the woods.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  10. what a sight! lucky you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  11. Beautiful. No wonder it put a spring in your step. I enjoy them at a slower pace (golfing).

    Like

    Reply
  12. I love bluebell woods too. Not sure there are any round here. I saw a few on the Common.

    Like

    Reply
  13. We haven’t got them in South-west France. I miss them. I remember this same conversation with you last year – where has the time gone??

    Like

    Reply
  14. Such pretty little flowers! You’re lucky to have what looks to be a lovely woods so near. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  15. I wish we had woods like that near here๐Ÿ˜”

    Like

    Reply
  16. Ahh, do you are also a runner? Have you made any of Fehrtrade’s running kit?

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

