Ups and downs

Posted on

I’ve been a little quiet. The truth is, it’s been a horrid couple of weeks at work which culminated in the company I work for ceasing trading on Wednesday of this week. 

Whilst I’ve been there nearly three and half years, many of the loyal workforce had chalked up over 15 years.

We all knew that in the present rise of the construction sector we would all find jobs pretty quickly but the fact that we would no longer be working together hit hard.

Strangely within this industry at the moment if you are any good, the jobs come to you. These are via recruitment agencies who pick up on rumours that a company might be struggling and contact you through LinkedIn.

I’ve already securred really  exciting job with great opportunities. I start a week on Monday.

But every cloud has a silver lining. My husband and I are taking the opportunity of a spare week to fly off today to soak up a little sun!

I get to finish off MeMadeMay15 wearing this!
Myrtle Dress by Colette

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

35 responses »

  1. I’m so glad you’ve got a new job to go to and a lovely break planned. All the best to you xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a stressful time for you, emotional too. I hope that you enjoy your unexpected holiday. Are you taking your sewing machine? 😜

    Like

    Reply
  3. I am sorry you have had a horrid time. I am sure the sun will perk you up and you’ll start your new job bright eyed and bushy tailed. Have a lovely time x

    Like

    Reply
  4. An impromptu week in the sun should do the trick and at least you go away knowing you already have a job to come back to. I hope you manage to have a lovely time:)

    Like

    Reply
  5. Hope your silver lining is really really shiny & you have an amazing week away & good luck with your new job ✈️☀️

    Like

    Reply
  6. Enjoy your break. Every cloud and all that…

    Like

    Reply
  7. Glad you’ve found a silver lining. A break sounds ideal 🙂 And is that a Myrtle I spy? Looks lovely, I still shudder at the thought of the one I made…

    Like

    Reply
  8. Every cloud hey! Enjoy your holiday and this is a new beginning and an opportunity, as my friend Claire says when I get down.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Glad your horrid couple of weeks had a happy ending. Lovely dress and it has pockets too!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Everything’s always all right in the end. You have proved that 🙂 Have a lovely holiday! I’m stuck at home with a child with chicken pox, everyone needs to stop making me jealous!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Sorry to hear you and former colleagues have had a rough time. Sounds like a new door has already opened with exciting possibilities.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Sorry to hear about your job. Redundancy is the pits, but so gladi you managed to get a new job and so quickly.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Commiserations on losing your old job and congratulations and good luck for your new one.

    Have a lovely week away x

    Like

    Reply
  14. Good luck in your new job. At least it was a good excuse for (yet another ;)) little holiday.

    Like

    Reply
  15. stitchedupsam

    Sorry to hear this, but glad you’ve managed to find a new job so quickly. Enjoy your holiday, it sounds like you need it.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Sorry about your job, but pleased you’ve found another one. Enjoy your break!

    Like

    Reply
  17. Congrats on the new job!

    Like

    Reply
  18. Hi Lucie, Great hear you’ve got a new an exciting job. Hope you don’t miss you old team too much. Have a wonderful holiday. That dress is fabulous.

    Like

    Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

