Big teal blanket update

Big teal blanket update

I’ve a teal blanket update today. I can do one square easily in just over an hour. I’m averaging at 4 a week.

Here are the first six all blocked.

Teal blanket

I’ve another 4 ready to block but six seems a nice number to fit onto my recently (should have bought them ages ago) purchased foam playmats.

Teal blanket

The pattern is fromย the byHaafner blog. The popcorn blanket.

This is hers.

byHaafner popcorn blanket

If I imagine hard enough, I can see the beginnings of mine.

I had planned on 30 squares but I may do more. It’ll be a snuggle rug for our living room and I’ve all this lot to get through.Womens Institute dk

Love, Lucie xx

About lovelucie1

I cannot sit without something in my hands to sew, crochet, sketch etc. This becoming something of an addiction. In fact, I start to get twitchy if I am stationary somewhere, waiting for an appointment, waiting for my daughter, away with work, without some project to keep my hands busy. Minutes wasted make me anxious. This blog logs my progress to raise funds through my creations to feed my textile habbit.

16 responses »

  1. Lovely pattern. Very snuggly! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It’s going to look amazing! Love how you block your squares ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  3. I love that Afghan/blanket.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Lovley squares. The colour of the yarn looks different to the squares. Down to the light I suppose. Like the playmats!

    Like

    Reply
  5. What a lovely colour, which surprises me as I usually go for brights. The stitch pattern stands out beautifully I suppose, so the grey-blue (?) works well.

    Like

    Reply
  6. I love that design – it’s going to look beautiful. I’d never heard of the foam playmats for blocking before. I guess it would work for knitting too. Are they interlocking so you can make the surface bigger and smaller?

    Like

    Reply
  7. Looks beautiful! Looking forward to seeing it made up…

    Like

    Reply
  8. Great idea to use foam play mats, your blanket is going to be beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Yarn crush | Simply hooked

  10. Hello Lucy
    Just came across your blog googling ByHaafner (whom I already knew) & I’m glad you had a Bloglovin’ button๐Ÿ˜
    I’ve these very same playmats I bought with the same purpose in mind, but… how do you know you’re blocking the squares to the same size?
    TIA,
    Cristina

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Cristina. Once I’d blocked the first one I cut out a template in a piece of card the same size and shape as the area that WASN’T covered by the square. An L shape. Does that make sense? Lucie x

      Like

      Reply

You can leave a comment here if you like!

